The Last Days of Disco or Disco Sucks

I watched the final instalment of Whit Stilman‘s ‘doomed-bourgeois-in-love’ trilogy yesterday, The Last Days of Disco. All three are really hard to get hold of but if you can, do buy them all. It took me around 10 attempts to get in to Metropolitan if I’m honest. Which I am. Mostly. But once I’d gotten over that hurdle, Barcelona was a breeze. And I’m no film critic so I’m not going to dissect them here (I’ll save that for my lucky friends) but here’s a clip where The Lady & The Tramp is discussed. This reminds me of Seinfeld where Jerry and George discuss comic book superheroes or the fudge distribution in a sundae or being a half-man double-team relationship machine:

And how does this relate to Free School? Well, two things. I’m interested in the ‘Disco Sucks’ movement and the film shows this fascinating clip:

There’s also some great music featured, including this little gem:

Steve

One Response to The Last Days of Disco or Disco Sucks

  1. […] to this post,I’ve been watching Freaks & Geeks recently. Read about it here and then buy it. You […]

Leave a Reply

